The release of the GeoDatabase is either invalid or out of date


Got this ERROR?

Failed to connect to database. The release of the GeoDatabase is either invalid or out of date. DBMS table not found [ORA-00942: table or view does not exist][SDE.GDB_Release]

Geodatabase is either invalid or out of date

I got this error when I did refresh to our Oracle DB in lower environment. After several hours troubleshooting, I laid out my findings:

1. SDE.GDB_Release does not exist on both source DB and target DB.

2. Database version is current and ArcSDE as well.

3. SDE.GDB_Items doesn’t has record in target but has records in source.

Resolution:  Try to find and compare any tables under SDE schema between source and target. I fixed the error after I inserted records from source to target in SDE.GDB_items.

I hope if you are facing this similar error, you can take this post as one of your sources in troubleshooting.

Good Luck, Friends!

4 thoughts on “The release of the GeoDatabase is either invalid or out of date

  1. I had the same problem on Linux CentOS 6 with ArcGis Server 10.3 and the RDMBS was Oracle 12c (12.1.0.2). The solution that solved my problem was:
    1. Uninstall ArcGis Server – if possible
    2. Check OS prerequisites :
    The following package groups are required:
    For RHEL 6 and RHEL 7:
    fontconfig
    freetype
    libXfont
    mesa-libGL
    mesa-libGLU
    Xvfb
    X Window System package group
    3. Install ArcGis Server under different user (not root)
    4. The path where ArcGis Server is installed must have full permissions for that user (point 3.)
    5. After installation, restart.

Leave a comment